Learning is Fun

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework is the legal curriculum that all childcare settings, including Elswick House, have been following since September 2008. In 2017 the framework was revised to make it clearer and easier to use and it focuses on how children learn and what adults can do to encourage the learning.

It sets out:-

  • The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare.
  • The 7 Areas of Learning and Development, which members of staff  can use as a guide when engaging with your child's play and activities, as they learn new skills and knowledge.
  • Assessments that will tell you about your child's progress through the EYFS.
  • Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the "Early Learning Goals (ELG's)".

Founded upon four principles

The EYFS is founded upon four important principles:

  • That every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers.
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Areas of Learning and Development

The EYFS identifies 3 Prime Areas of Learning and Development and 4 Specific Areas:


Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language


Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


Members of staff use ongoing observations of the children to monitor how each one is developing and they use this information to plan challenging and enjoyable experiences for the children in all seven areas of learning and development.

Within each area of learning there are Early Learning Goals (ELG's), which most children will be expected to reach by the end of their Reception year. When the children are aged between 24 and 36 months, a short written summary of their progress in the three prime areas is provided. This Progress Check at Age Two is important as it will help to identify if their are any areas, in which a child may be developing at a faster or slower pace than the expected level of progress for their age. If a child's progress in any prime area gives cause for concern, additional support for the child may be considered.

The framework ensures that all children are included and not disadvantaged because of ethnicity, culture or religion, home language, family background, learning difficulties or disabilities, gender or ability and have access to a range of learning and play activities and materials.


 Further information can be downloaded from the Deptartment of Education website.

Quick Contact


+44 (0)1543 432329




Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© Elswick House Nursery School